Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello from the Valley of the Sun, Phoenix AZ

1. Top Of Page | #1
    Basic Member

User Info Menu

Hello from the Valley of the Sun, Phoenix AZ

Newbie here and to Subarus, though I have raced against a bunch of Subie powered dune buggies out in the Dunes of Southern California.

I have a 96 Legacy Outback wagon that I picked up from the son of a friend. It was new to the boy and when the head gasket blew on the 2.5, and between the two of them couldn't get one of the heads off because of a stuck headbolt, they decided to scrap the whole car for the 350.00 in scrap metal worthiness. I took one look at the clean and rust free wagon in white w/ grey accents and said I'd give him 425.00 if he threw in the new radiator they had bought to cure the overheating problem they saw.

Fast forward to pulling the 2.5, getting the headbolt out by cutting the flange off the head of the bolt, only to discover that someone had pried or hammered on the block in a couple of places, causing deep enough dents that it warranted splitting the block to have it machined. Too much for my newbie status with Subies so my son and I went to a U-pull it and found a 95 with a 2.2 in it and 160.00 later had it in the truck. Did some seals on it while we had it out and slapped it in the Legacy. Changed the oil several times now with a little over 5,000 miles and the transaxle fluid 3 times, to try and stop a shuddering during low speed turns.

Love this little wagon. Great on gas compared to any other vehicle in the stable and the best part is I have about 1,000.00 dollars in it so far. John, (broknindarkagain) moved back to the Phoenix area and we've been swapping labor for shop time and parts. He REALLY knows Subarus.

I build the Internet for a living by constructing fiber optic networks for industry, governments and ISP's and have been doing it since 1971.

Tom
    Last edited by John; 03-21-2012 at 12:12 AM.