Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Loud running after sitting for 4 years!

1. Top Of Page | #1
    Basic Member

User Info Menu

Loud running after sitting for 4 years!

SO I bought a 1999 Legacy EJ22 Auto well equipped, with 168k miles in march of 2013, for $2500. The carfax was clear and showed the second owner from 2002-2009, then no rego till I got it.
    lots of dirt and dog hair, but the engine revs very well, and it feels nice driving it. the dealer I bought the car from Replaced a few belts and "Cleaned" it, the radiator is also new. I just replaced the coolant temp sensor, Vacuum Purge Valve (Broke it installing the sensor). anyways, I've noticed some valve noise at all temps and running conditions, and a lifter tap when cold.

would it be wise to dump some marvel mystery oil in there?

what Kind of issues should I look for being as the car sat for so long?

I'm new to the flat-4 but LOVING it so far!

also, Hoping for a bit more power, would an exhaust and intake be noticeable enough for the price??

What performance swaps are common on the EJ22

any information is welcome!

2. Top Of Page | #2

User Info Menu

First welcome to the team.

Second what oil you running?
    Without you, we cease to exist. Without your support, we stop growing. Without your involvement, we remain at a standstill.
    Thank you for your faithfulness to our organization and your creative ideas and support.

3. Top Of Page | #3
    Basic Member

User Info Menu

I have no idea whats in there, its dark (Not black/sludgy) it needs an oil change though, and I have some MarvMysOil on hand. so should I run it with MMO for a weekend before oil change?

4. Top Of Page | #4

User Info Menu

I would change the oil ASAP! Get some really good oil like Amsoil!
    Without you, we cease to exist. Without your support, we stop growing. Without your involvement, we remain at a standstill.